Vital Records - Birth, Death & Marriage

Birth & Death Certificates

  • Only a mother, father, brother, sister, grandparent, or spouse may obtain someone else's birth certificate with proper ID.
  • Certified certificates are $10 each.

To request certified certificates of Gaston County Births and Deaths fill out the Application for Certified Copy of Vital Records (PDF) and either bring or mail to the following addresses:

  • Online at Vital Records Portal
    • Service Fee of $3.50 in addition to the cost of the Certificate(s) is charged by a 3rd party vendor for this service
  • In person:
    Gaston County Courthouse
    325 Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Way (formerly 325 N Marietta Street)
    Gastonia, NC 28052
  • Mail:
    Gaston County Register of Deeds
    P.O. Box 1578
    Gastonia, NC 28053

Money Orders or Checks for Mail request. Cash and Credit Cards for in person request.

Out of County Births

To request Birth Certificates from State Vital Records see information on the State website.

Gaston County Register of Deeds now offers a service for statewide births from 1971 forward. They are available to be purchased in the office only. The cost for this service is $24 (fee set by State, cash only).

Marriage Licenses

  • Licenses are issued Monday through Friday by appointment only, allow at least 20 to 30 minutes to process; call 704-862-7687 to make appointment
  • Apply online and submit before coming to appointment
  • Both applicants must come in person and have a valid state ID, valid driver's license, or a certified copy of birth certificate (if foreign birth certificate, must be translated in English and certified)
  • Social security card
  • If previous marriage ended in Divorce or Annulment, applicant must provide a copy signed by judge
  • If previous marriage ended in death, applicant must know the month and date of the death
  • Licenses issued in Gaston County can be used anywhere in North Carolina, but must be returned to the county where purchased. Some counties may have other requirements for purchasing licenses
  • Cost of License is $60. Cash, credit card or money orders will be accepted. Information regarding marriage license fee per NC General Statutes:
    • $30 goes to the Department of Administration for Domestic Violence Fund
    • $5 goes to the NC Department of Public Instruction Children's Trust Fund
    • $25 is the Register of Deeds Fee
  • Licenses are valid for 60 days from the date purchased
  • No one under age 14 years of age can get a marriage license in North Carolina. Ages 14 to 16 need a court order signed by a judge. Ages 16 to 18 must have parent's consent along with proper IDs

Certified copies of Marriage licenses are available for $10 cash, credit card or money orders accepted. Requested by mail or in person. Fill out the Application for Certified Copy of Vital Records (PDF) and mail to:
Gaston County Register of Deeds
P.O. Box 1578
Gastonia, NC 28053