Community Policing

The Community Policing Division is overseen by Assistant Chief S. V. Jentsch and is comprised primarily of uniformed officers assigned to one of four squads. Each squad is commanded by a captain. Officers work rotating, twelve-hour shifts and are supervised by a sergeant. The Community Policing Division is responsible for:

  • Controlling and preventing crime through regular patrols
  • Answering calls for service
  • Apprehending offenders
  • Enforcing criminal and traffic laws
  • Conducting investigations
  • Working with the community to solve neighborhood problems

Also included in this Division are the K-9 Unit, community service officers, a seasonal Marine Enforcement Unit, reserve officers and two specialized response units: the Emergency Response Team and the Hazardous Devices Unit.