Gaston County


Home > Departments > Elections > Elected Officials > Board of Commissioners


Board of Commissioners

The seven members of the Gaston County Board of Commissioners are elected on a partisan basis to four year staggered terms. Those that file for a particular seat must live in the township. However, the vote is countywide or "at-large." The Gastonia Township has two members with five townships having one each. Four of the townships are on the ballot in "Presidential" years. Three are elected in the "off" general election years. Person filing for office must be registered voters, a resident of the county and/or township for 30 days, 21 years of age, and registered with the party affiliation whose nomination is sought. A person who changes party affiliation must be registered with that affiliation 90 days prior to filing for office or by the time filing ends. The breakdown is as follows:

Presidential years: "Off" years:
Cherryville Township Dallas Township
Crowders Mountain Township Gastonia Township (1)
Gastonia Township (1) Riverbend Township
South Point Township

Click here to view the current County Commissioners.